The first day of 2003! A day spent quietly reading and in contemplation of the coming year. I have many thoughts running through my mind as I think of the year ahead. I am not really a “goals” person, but I am a person of direction. How will my life be directed in the next 12 months? In what ways do I want to grow? I believe I need more solitude and quietness in my life. The busyness of life draws me away from the core of my being. What do I desire to be reflected in my life? These are some of the questions I have been asking myself.All my life I have been a learner. My father was a learner and has been my greatest inspiration. I love passionate dialogue and the exchange of ideas – new ideas. Over the past 4 years at Lakeview Church, Jordon Cooper has been a great catalyst for new thought for me personally. I have to admit that since he has left the staff at Lakeview, there is a great “hole” in the whole area of provocative and engaging conversation – whether it be theology, football, hockey, relationships, the “institution” of the church, change, postmodernism, spirituality, team based ministry – and the list could go on. However, saying that, I still have opportunity to connect with Jordon. Jordon and Wendy’s Christmas gifts to Jerry and I were books. Here are some that we will be reading and working our way through:

The Ingenuity Gap by Thomas Homer-Dixon
Emergence by Steven Johnson
Seizing Your Divine Moment by Erwin McManus “Dare to Live a Life of Adventure”
A Better Hope by Stanley Hauerwas “Resources for a Church confromting Capitalism, Democracy, and Postmodernity

Some other I will endeavour to read are:

Renovation of the Heart by Dallas Willard
The Family by Jack O. Balswick & Judith K. Balswick
Intimate Allies by Allender Longman (These last two are for a course I am taking on “Discipling Your Family” taught by Martin Sanders at Lakeview Church in November 2002)
I am also taking a “Wesleyan Theology” class this weekend which requires the reading of two books with book reviews on each.

For me this means a big chunk of time – I would love to take a year’s sabbatical just to read. However, Jerry, my husband, says rather than just reading I need to put into practice just 1/100th of what I read and I would be an absolutely “awesome” person!!!! Sometimes practical people irritate me!!!!!

Reading through the Bible in 2003 is at the top of the list.

The New Year will bring changes in our household. Our daughter Tamara will be leaving for Taiwan on January 14th for at least a year. I am not sure I am ready for that. She has been at home for the past 4 months and we have thoroughly enjoyed having her here. However, she is 25 and has been on her own for quite awhile, attending the University of Calgary and Mount Royal College in Calgary for 4 years. Life is constant change.

Happy New Year to all!

