Well the holidays are over and back to the real grind. Went to “work out” tonight for the first time in about three weeks. The old body was a little slow, but I am sure will cooperate more the next time I go.

Great couple of days in class with Prof Dave Ashton looking at Wesleyan Theology. Great look at Church History and some of the early Church Fathers. Looked at the culture John Wesley’s day and what England looked like in those days. We looked extensively at the difference between the Eastern and Western Early Church Fathers.We also sang some Wesley hymns one being “O for a thousand tongues to sing” all 14 verses of it. I didn’t sing, I just read the words!!!! John Wesley’s theology was one of optimism. Love is at the center. What you love controls you. Failure to love is the center of sin. 7 deadly sins all misdirected love. I have two books to read and do papers on. The first is John Wesley edited by Albert C. Outler. The second is Responsible GraceJohn Wesley’s Practical Theology, by Randy L. Maddox. Once I have finished these, I am sure I will be able to “wax eloquent”. If you want to discuss more, I would love to over a cup of coffee.

Busy week ahead of us as Tamara gets ready to head over the ocean to Thailand and then Taiwan. We will be connecting with Matt and Jesika, our son and daughter-in-law, who live in Canmore, for the weekend, and then drop Tamara off at the Calgary airport on Monday afternoon. Our home will be very quiet after she leaves. She is heading off to visit Thailand and then work in Taiwan teaching English. It looks like Jerry and I will have to take a trip to Taiwan.

