Over the past while I have been doing some soul searching on what lies ahead for me.  I turned 59 in December which means I am now in my 60th year and I am reflecting on what the next 10 years could hold for me. Who do I want to become? Where am I  heading?  Who am I at my core and what do I want to show forth from my life?  I am thinking I am going to need some silence and solitude to do some deep reflecting on who I am right now and where I sense God wanting to lead me and ultimately change me.  I am not sure what that looks like, but I am contemplating what the next few months could look and feel like.  As I have said to Jerry, and some other close friends, I feel my shallowness and I don’t want to stay there.  I want my relationship with God to move forward and I have a discontent within my core that I believe is leading me to something new.  I am afraid and I am excited.  I just read an excerpt from a book by Allan Hirsch “The Forgotten Ways:Reactivating the missional church”…lots of food for thought. 

The words that have been resonating in my innermost being are “Be still and know that I am God” and “…in quietness and confidence shall be your strength”.  The words that particularly draw me are “be still” and “in quietness”.  There is always so much activity; things to do; places to go; people to talk with; causes to be fight; the words “still” and “quiet” do not come up in those activities.  Holy Spirit guide me is my prayer.

