I would just like to share with you some of the worship time Gathering Prayer we shared on our first evening of class.  It was very significant in setting the tone for the whole week of discovery…

 A time away…A time to arrive…A time to begin…

“Today we begin a part of our journey that will lead us into a deeper relationship with our God, with ourselves, and with each other.

Together with are on a Journey Deeper into God.”

A Reading from Pierre Teilhard de Chardin:

Trust in the slow work of God,

We are quite naturally impatient in everything to reach the end without delay.

We should like to skip the intermediate stages.

We are impatient of being on the way to something unknown, something new.

And it is the law of all progress that it is made by passing through some stage of instability –

And that it may take a long time

And so I think it is with you,

Your ideas mature gradually, Let them grow.

Let them shape themselves without undue haste.

Don’t try to force them on, as though you could be today what time – that is to say, what grace and circumstances acting on your own good will – will make you tomorrow.

Only God can say what this new spirit gradually forming within you will be.

Give our Lord the benefit of believing that God’s hand is leading you and accept the anxiety of feeling yourself in suspense and incomplete.

The phrases that were impressed upon my heart were “Trust in the SLOW work of God.” “Your ideas mature GRADUALLY, Let them grow.  Let them shape themselves with UNDUE HASTE.”

“Only God can say what this new spirit GRADUALLY forming within you will be…and accept the ANXIETY of  FEELING yourself in suspense and incomplete.”

Just relaxing and realizing that God’s work is continuous but slow and gradual.  I don’t need to be in such a hurry!  Just rest and “be still” and “quiet” and “confident” knowing that God is working gradually and slowly in my life.  Slow down Gloria!!

My prayer for that week was “Change my heart…to move from my head to my heart…to move into a deeper love relationship with God.”  God is faithful and He is doing it.

We are heading to Elkhorn Resort for a week so will not be back until Sunday, March 25th.  I will continue to ruminate on what I have been learning and how I am changing and will continue to share when I get back.  God bless!

